Joe Root’s dismissal in the second Test triggered a huge controversy when some English commentators on Live TV questioned the legality of the ball delivered that dismissed England’s big hope in the match.
What happened to create so much controversy, and why did MCC have to step in?
In the 4th Innings of the second Test match in the Anderson Tendulkar Trophy at Edgbaston, Birmingham, England was set a huge target of 608 to chase on a fifth day wicket.
Chasing a mammoth target of 608 in the 4th innings, England were up for the chase and had their hopes of scripting a historic Test win or salvaging a draw.
For the initial four days of the Test match, batsmen had dominated the game.
The Indian pace duo of Mohammed Siraj and Akashdeep struck early with the new ball, reducing the hosts to 72 for three by Stumps on Day 4 in Birmingham.
However, controversy erupted over the third dismissal.
Just moments before the close of play, Akashdeep took the prized wicket of Joe Root for just six runs off 16 balls with a fuller, angling delivery which nipped back sharply to take the wickets down leaving the England batter stunned.
Akash Deep bowled the ball from wide of the crease, and Joe Root, attempting a defensive shot, was clean bowled. The delivery stride of the bowler came into question on whether the delivery was legal or illegal. Was there any error made at the umpires’ end? Differing opinions and discussions among former cricketers on whether the delivery was legal started doing the rounds.
The Dismissal led to a huge controversy when commentator Alison Mitchell pointed out that the delivery was, in fact, a back-foot no-ball, raising serious questions about the missed call. Speaking on BBC TMS on Saturday, she noted: “The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!”
Several cricket experts questioned the legality of the delivery bowled by Indian fast bowler Akash Deep, which clean-bowled English great Joe Root.
After the dismissal, some fans and even commentators started talking about how the delivery may have been illegal. Videos went viral on social media showing Akashdeep’s back foot touching the return crease.
Former England player Jonathan Trott believed it was a no-ball, and he said it on air. However, Former India coach Ravi Shastri did not agree with him.
The drama of Joe Root’s dismissal caught more fire on social media with England’s batting collapsing on Day 5. This forced MCC to finally clarify.
Akash Deep’s Delivery to Joe Root was Legal: The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) issue statement
With controversy over the Root dismissal was heating up, MCC had to intervene and clear the the air on Akash Deep’s delivery.
MCC has now come forward to clear the confusion. In a statement given to Cricbuzz said that what matters is the very first moment the bowler’s back foot touches the ground. Even if the rest of the foot goes over the line later, it doesn’t matter. Since Akash Deep’s foot first landed inside the legal area, it was not ruled as a no-ball.
“On Day four of India’s Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law,” an MCC spokesperson was quoted as saying.
Supersports View
Several former cricketers claimed that Akash Deep’s foot touched the return crease on the bowling side when he bowled the delivery that clean-bowled Joe Root. We at Supersports do agree that the foot touched the return crease but the first contact of the right foot was not on the crease. His front foot was in the crease, and his back foot touched the return crease as he moved forward to bowl.
What does the law say : According to Law 21.5.1 of the MCC rulebook, the bowler’s back foot at the point of landing must be within the return crease. The key word here is “landing” — not follow-through. Even if the foot moves outside later, as long as it lands correctly, it’s legal.
“The bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery,” states the law 21.5.1.
Our website : supersports360.com
Trending Article:
Join us on Twitter (x) : @360supersports
Leave A Comment