IPL 2024 Preview: Who will be the Top Run Scorer | Orange Cap

IPL 2024 Preview:  Who will be the Top Run Scorer | Orange Cap

The 2024 edition of the Indian Premier League will be the 17th edition of the mega tournament. Ten Teams will be vying for the trophy and this year promises to be an exciting and unpredictable season.

The Orange Cap is one of the awards which every batsman dreams to have as the player can wear their prize during the game till someone beats their record.

orange cap holder-highest run getter for the season

The Top Orange Cap Contenders

Rohit Sharma

rohit sharma

Rohit Sharma will know that this may probably be his last season with the Mumbai Indians.

Rohit may look to captain another franchise for 3-4 seasons next season.

Currently in rich form and the confidence after a 4-1 Test Series win will be motivation enough for the Mumbai Batsman to shine in the mega event.

With the burden of captaincy now being lifted, we may see a whole new Rohit Sharma in the T20 format which may help Team India in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

While Rohit has been successful for team India in the T20 format, he has not been as successful in IPL as a batsman.

Striped of captaincy, Rohit will have a point to prove.


Shubman Gill

shubman gill

After having to go through a lean patch for a year, Shubman has found back his mojo and has been scoring heavily in all formats.

Shubman Gill has been appointed captain of Gujarat Titanswhich will motivate the youngster to do well in the season. Having won the cap in the last season, Shubman will be keen on retaining the cap this season too.

Shubman Gill can aspire to captain the Indian National Team with a good IPL and a successful World Cup campaign.

Gill is currently in red-hot form with an impressive show in the recently concluded England Test series.


Virat Kohli

virat kholi

If there is one player in the cricketing circuit who likes to take up a challenge, it has to be Virat King Kohli. With his place in the T20 World Cup in stake, a good IPL showing is a must and Virat Kohli may just channelise his form to help RCB lift their maiden IPL trophy this year.

Like Rohit, Virat Kohli will enjoy playing the IPL with no burden of captaincy.

Kohli is no stranger to IPL records with over 7200 runs in 237 matches. Last season too he was amongst the highest run-getters with 2 centuries and 6 fifties.


Yashasvi Jaiswal

yashasvi jaiswal

With a year with the Indian team would have helped this talented south paw understand his true potential. Being the highest scorer in the recently concluded India England Test Series will help Yashasvi to put a heavy price on his wicket which will help him to excel in this season. With Jose butler as partner, Yashasvi can break all records and can be a potential Orange cap winner


David Warner

david warnrer

Having announced his retirement after the T20 World Cup makes David Warner a hungry man for big runs in this season. He will be DC’s Opener and captain and his form will be crucial for Delhi to make it to the top 4.  David Warner is no stranger to the Orange Cap with winning it in 2015, 2017 and 2019 making him one of the legends in the IPL history.


KL Rahul

kl rahul

KL Rahul have been in and out of the Indian T20 side and is not a surety in the world cup squad.  The Stylish Right-hand batsman had a great world Cup and will look to continue his form in IPL. To have a place in the Indian World Cup Squad, KL will need to bring his 2020 form when he won the orange cap for the season.


Past Winners of the Orange Cap

2008 Shaun Marsh
2009 Mathew Hayden
2010 Sachin Tendulkar
2011 Chris Gayle
2012 Chris Gayle
2013 Micheal Hussey
2014 Robin Uthappa
2015 David Warner
2016 Virat Kohli
2017 David Warner
2018 Kane Williamson
2019 David Warner
2020 KL Rahul
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad
2022 Jos Butler
2023 Shubman Gill
2024  ?



In the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Orange Cap is the most coveted award for any batter as it rewards the run-scoring feats achieved in the tournament

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *