IPL 2024 Purple Cap | Who will be the Highest Wicket Taker?

IPL 2024 Purple Cap | Who will be the Highest Wicket Taker?

The 17th Edition of the Indian Premier league (IPL) is couple of weeks away and this IPL Season will continue to leave up to the hype being the most popular T20 Franchise league in the world.


While T20 format started as a batsman’s game, it has slowly become a game equally important for the bowlers

History of the IPL has proved that the teams having better bowling attacks have gone on to win the trophy. The two most successful teams, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have both won 5 Titles each and their bowlers have been the reasons for their success

The 2024 edition would also see Bowlers dominating the tournament and the teams who bowl well in the tournament would find a place in the Top 4 positions in the richest cricket league of the world.


The Purple Cap is the award every bowler’sdream to have as the highest wicket-takercan wear thePurple Cap during the game till someone beats their record.

mohd. shami purple cap-2023

The Competition of the Purple Cap will be even more exciting this season with this season showcasing a blend of experienced and new talent from all over the globe.


The Top Purple Cap Contenders

Rashid Khan

rashid khan

One of the mainstays of Gujarat Titans, last season’sfinalist, will again be a very important player for the team. Rashid Khan played a huge role in Gujarat Titans winning the title in their maiden season.

While they will be hampered by the absence of Mohammed Shami due to injury, Rashid Khan will have to spearhead the bowling department.

Rashid Khan has a record 139 wickets in 109 games he has played so far in the IPL making him one of the most successful bowlers in the league.

Rashid Khan and the other Afghanistan players playing for other franchise teams are the most sought-after players as they excel in this format.

Last Season too Rashid Khan with 27 wickets was in contention for the Purple Cap till his teammate, Mohammad Shami beat him to it.

Rashid Khan will be more dangerous as the tournament enters the second phase when the pitches will get tired.


Yuzvendra Chahal

yuzi chahal

Currently out of favour, the former Indian international in all formats will look to redeem himself and make a mark before the India T20 World Cup squad is announced.

This will prove motivation enough for the former RCB player to do well for his current team, Rajasthan Royals.

Yuzvendra Chahal is the highest wicket-taker in the history of the IPL with 187 wicketsand was also the Purple Cap holder in the 2022 edition.


Jasprit Bumrah

jasprit bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah is arguably the world’s best all-format bowler currently. With Injury plaguing the Mumbai Indian’s pacer in the 2023 season, Jasprit missed the entire season. His absence was felt by Mumbai Indians who faltered in the eliminator stagein the 2023 season.

Jasprit Bumrah is fully fit and had a fabulous first half of 2024 helping India reach the World Cup Finals and also being a key player in the 4-1 win over England in the recently concluded Test series.

Jasprit Bumrah has 145 wickets and would be a serious contender for this year’s IPL.

The Form of Jasprit Bumrah will be crucial with Mumbai Indians being the firm favourites in this year’s edition


Pat Cummins

pat cummins

One of the costliest players in the mini auction, Pat Cummins will play a crucial role for his new Franchise Sun Risers Hyderabad both as a player and as their captain.

Pat Cummins has had a fantastic last few monthwith Australia winning both the World Test Championship and the World Cup under his leadership.

Sunrisers Hyderabad will surely hope that Cummins continues his form and help them win their maiden IPL title. Hyderabad has previously won the Title under the Deccan Charges Franchise under Adam Gilchrist.

Pat Cummins was previously with the Knight Riders.

Pat Cummins is a useful lower-order batsman too. His bowling is effective in all stages of the game.


Trent Boult

trent boult

Trent Boult took a career call by not being part of the New Zealand central contract. This has helped Trent Boult become one of the most successful T20 bowlers by playing all the best T20 franchise tournaments in the globe.

Trent Boultcontinues to be a very important player in his new franchise after Rajasthan Royalsgrabbed the Southpaw during the trading window from Mumbai Indians in the Mega Auction year.

Trent Boult continues to be his country’s best bowler and plays for his country in limited-oversduring World Cups.


Past Winners of the Purple Cap

Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir was the first bowler to be awarded thePurple Cap while Mohammed Shami won last year’s Purple Cap








Sohail Tanvir

Rajasthan Royals



RP Singh

Deccan Chargers



Pragyan Ojha

Deccan Chargers



Lasith Malinga

Mumbai Indians



Morne Morkel

Delhi Daredevils



Dwayne Bravo

Chennai Super Kings



Mohit Sharma

Chennai Super Kings



Dwayne Bravo

Chennai Super Kings



Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Sunrisers Hyderabad



Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Sunrisers Hyderabad



Andrew Tye

Kings XI Punjab



Imran Tahir

Chennai Super Kings



Kagiso Rabada

Delhi Capitals



Harshal Patel

Royal Challengers Bangalore



Yuzvendra Chahal

Rajasthan Royals



Mohammed Shami

Gujarat Titans







What is Purple Cap in IPL?

Leading wicket taker of IPL is awarded the Purple Cap.


Who is the current Purple Cap holder (IPL 2023)?

Mohammed Shami is the current Purple Cap holder


How many Indians have won the Purple Cap inIPL?

Seven Indians have won the Purple Cap in the IPL.

Mohit Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal and Mohammed Shami

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *